First they came for the jews

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 9.58.57 AM

I have been having a very hard time incorporating what is happening with the Trump campaign into reality.  It doesn’t make any sense to me.  They say that history repeats itself, but I’d be remiss if I didn’t say, I thought perhaps it would repeat itself after I was dead.

I know I am not the first to make this comparison, nor do I think I’ll be the last.  I am one of many in this regard.  But it’s scary and frustrating to me that there seems to be nothing that can stop this destructive train.  The GOP itself is looking for ways to derail Trump.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 8.26.07 AMPhoto credit: http://www.cnn.com/2016/03/12/politics/gallery/week-in-politics-0312/index.html

This.  This is real.  This is what Donald Trump brings out of people.  He is a loud, emphatic, speaker who is able to rally people to his cause.  He, like his famous predecessor before him, has stated what he will do.  He has even described how he wants to do it.  And hundreds of thousands of people are flocking to his side.  And I’m terrified.

 I know I’m not doing anything other than stating facts that enlightened people know.  But I don’t know what else to do.  I don’t know how to stop him.  I don’t know how to rally those that aren’t already rallied against him.  Hell even the hacker group “Anonymous” has declared war on Trump…and still he climbs and still he rises.

I’m disgusted at the partisan nature of our new media.  What we need is people to band together and say “This man is a racists.  This man does not and will not speak for me.”  But what are we doing instead?  We have 1/2 the media saying he’s a buffoon – WHY are people so reluctant to call him what he is?  A terrifying racist.) and the other 1/2 of the media are CANCELING debates because he’s refusing to show.  “Fuck the other candidates!” says Fox New.  They do nothing for our ratings.  Let’s deny the American people the right to see their other options and only inundate people with images of Hitler, I mean Trump.  Because he is who is he, and because his responses and television persona are what they are, media is only interested in what he can bring them financially.  Disgusting.

I’m terrified as a woman about his seemingly inevitable nomination.  I’m terrified as an ally for the LGBT community.  I’m terrified as someone with loved ones of color.  I’m just terrified.

I’m repeating myself.  I do that when I get nervous about something.  Or when I don’t have the answers.  I just keep repeating what I know as if that will solve the problem.

I think part of me is very scared of the fact that I feel helpless.  Like the WWII quote at the beginning of this post, I feel like if I say nothing, there will be no one left to say anything.  I feel like it’s my responsibility as an adult, an ally, a friend, a loved one, to stand up and say something.  But I don’t know what else to do or how else to voice my discomfort.  The one concrete thing I can do, which I will do, is vote.

When I sat down to write this, I thought I had more to say.  Or at least more that meant something, instead of just rambling.  I guess not.

I wonder what his ex wives (2 of the 3 immigrants: Ivana – Czech, Melania – Slovenia) and his children (obviously children of immigrants), feel about his stances on anyone who isn’t a white american male.

4/1/16 – An update…

Here is a beautiful article written by the scientist, actress, mother and advocate Mayim Bialik with her take on Trump, his campaign, and his most recent statement that women and doctors who chose to have, and who perform abortions should be punished.  I think it is one of the most well written articles I’ve come across on the subject.  I particularly enjoy her second point…

“Point 2: You don’t have to like that people can get abortions. You don’t have to tell your daughters that abortion is a great option if they get drunk and have unprotected sex and get pregnant. We don’t have to like everything that other people do. But we cannot eliminate the right for women to decide what to do with their bodies.” (Emphasis added).

EDIT: July 5th, 2016

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 10.06.42 AM

(photo credit: http://www.cnn.com/2016/07/04/politics/donald-trump-star-of-david-tweet-explained/index.html)

Cool.  So this is a thing that happened.  Isn’t that awesome?  Do we need to continue to discuss how terrifying this man is?  And not even this man.  He in-and-of-himself is NOT what scares me the most.  What scares me the most, are the people he “inspires”.  He won’t have to lift a hand.  But then again…neither did Hitler.

His explanation (courtesy of the same article linked below the picture): “These false attacks by Hillary Clinton trying to link the Star of David with a basic star, often used by sheriffs who deal with criminals and criminal behavior, showing an inscription that says ‘Crooked Hillary is the most corrupt candidate ever’ with anti-Semitism is ridiculous,” Trump said in the statement.

Ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

