Can we get back to politics? Please? Yo!

I found this article to be incredibly interesting for a number of reasons.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have a hard time with politics; particularly politics as they exist today, and even more particularly, as they exist in this current election cycle.

One of the things I find interesting about this, is the feeling of “sore loser” I get after reading it.  Granted, I don’t know everything that goes on behind the scenes.  Perhaps the system truly is rigged and Trump is being treated unfairly (not that I would complain about that in this particular instance).  I have a feeling however, that it is not, and that Mr. Trump is simply stamping his feet and complaining that life is unfair because he may not win the nomination.  While I agree that our system may need some revamping (I find it interesting – to say the least –  that you can win the majority vote and still LOSE the overall election), I think this instance takes a little retrospective and self-reflection on the behalf of our republican friends.  First and foremost, would they be calling for a change in the rules to suit a democrat?  Unlikely.  Secondly, here’s what really bothers me, you can’t just change the rules anytime something happens that doesn’t favor you or your point of view.

Case in point, the passing of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia.  “We believe the American people need to decide who is going to make this appointment rather than a lame-duck president,” Cornyn said Tuesday as he left a meeting of top Republicans discussing how to handle the White House’s promised nominee.  So…the people have the right to decide…except when it comes to whether or not you win the nomination?

I need to stop writing these posts at work.  I have a hard time focusing.  I’m sorry to the one person who may stumble across and read this.

My point is that I can’t stand the hypocrisy of politics now.  What bothers me even more is that people who make upwards of $125,000 a year can shut down the government, put thousands of hardworking government employees out of work for weeks on end, and still make a paycheck, because things aren’t going their way.  Things haven’t gone my way at work all year, but I still show up every damn day and I do my job, because if I don’t…I’m fired.  Point blank.  You can’t just stymie things because you want your way.  Or rather, its seems you can, but you shouldn’t be able to.  It’s infuriating.  My harshest criticism of Obama (besides the ridiculously HEINOUS appointment of John B. King as Secretary of Education) is not that he “allowed” the government to shut down per say (for it takes two to tango so to speak), but that he didn’t say, “Ok.  Y’all want to act like fools and not do your jobs?  You don’t get paid then.  That’s easy.  You want to get paid, sit the fuck down and come to a compromise.  Until then, your paychecks can go to helping the national debt.”

Leave a Reply

