Number 2: If they don’t, grab a friend…

I’m already annoyed because I had to wash my hair last night. I don’t wash my hair frequently because it has a relatively nice curl and washing it too frequently strips it and makes it brittle and dry. Not only did I have to wash it after only two days, I blew it dry AND flat ironed it again. I need to find a good dry shampoo.

Comments so far:

  • I like your headband!  It’s really cute! – co-worker
  • Aw I like that! – co-worker, big smile on their face, looking at my headband
  • Nice headband! – co-worker
  • I like your hair like that! – co-worker.  (This one made me feel a little annoyed…what?  May hair doesn’t look good when it’s a curly  mess?  F you! – maybe I’ll wear my hair curly next week and gauge the different reactions)
  • Ms. ___ I like that headband!  Where did you get it? – Peru – Oh I could tell! – co-worker

I think I’m having an ok time with the comments today because they are all focused on the headband.  I have never worn a headband to work.  At least I haven’t in the last 5/6 years (and there’s enough turn over in special education that anyone who may remember the one time I wore one is gone).  None of the comments are really focused on my physical features/the physical changes in my hair or the use of make-up.  It’s easier to accept the comments when they are about something novel that’s an accessory.

Strangely enough, no one over the last two days has mentioned the fact that I’m wearing make-up.  I’m just wearing mascara but I can see a difference.  Maybe everyone else can’t see a difference because of my glasses.

I’m going to leave this article here for you to read.  It is an incredibly important article.  Most of the article pertains to the “fear” of the word feminism, how many men and women believe that there is no longer a discrepancy between men and women, and the reality that we, as women, are NOT equal, even if we want to pretend we are.  Read the article.  It’s beautiful and profound.

There are moments, in the article that resonated with me so completely and deeply that I wanted to share them here.  They say some of the things that I’ve been feeling but haven’t been able to adequately express.

…You are still objectified. You are still catcalled. You are still sexualized. You are still told you’re too skinny or you’re too fat. You’re still told you’re too old or too young. You’re applauded when you “age gracefully.” You’re still told men age “better.” You’re still told to dress like a lady. You are still judged on your outfit instead of what’s in your head. What brand bag you have still matters more than your college degree…

…Your daughters are still told they are beautiful before they are told they are smart. Your daughters are still told to behave even though “boys will be boys.” Your daughters are still told boys pull hair or pinch them because they like them…

Leave a Reply

